About Us

The Curaçao Golf & Squash Club

The Club

The Curacao Golf & Squash Club is a private club with an 18-holes par 70 golf course that consists of 10 greens that are set in a brilliant oasis of tranquility, local flora and fauna. In addition, there are two squash courts for those like to be more active.   

Around 1930 golf was introduced to Curacao by a group of English golf enthusiasts who were working for the Mining Company and who would regularly hit balls on a very primitively built 9-hole golf course on the Tafelberg at Santa Barbara. After some Shell employees had shown interest combined with the increasing awareness of large companies that sport and recreation is important for its employees, a piece of land next to the headquarters of the Shell was used for the construction of a golf course by golf architect Simpson. As part of the design, the existing native Manzalina- and Tamarind trees, the fairytale Flamboyant tree as well as cacti and the very rare Copernica were spared.

In 1931 the Curacao Golf & Squash Club was born under the name Shell Golf Club. Originally the board consisted of the local management of Shell and the Golf Club was accessible only to employees of Shell, eventhough, secretly non-Shell employees interested in golf were admitted to the course.

The unique aspect of that course was the fact that, due to a shortage of water, brownies (sand mixed with oil and white spirit), were build instead of greens. In 1976 the first squash courts were opened on the property of the Golf Club. This emphasized the sport-loving character of the members of the Club. I n March 1985 Shell left Curacao and the current name was adopted. In 2003, the Curacao Golf & Squash Club underwent a true facelift when at the end of that year all the brownies were replaced with true greens.

Odoo image and text block Odoo image and text block

The Board

The Board of the Curaçao Golf & Squash Club consist of:

  • Marten O'Niel
    President, Commissioner Clubhouse and General Affairs
  • Darryl A. Rosheuvel
    Vice-President, Commissioner Golf Affairs and Course
  • Anton van der Heijden
  • Ingrid Futselaar
  • Anthony Richardson
    Commissioner Squash
  • Jean Paul Bouwense
    Commissioner Food and Beverage and Commercial Affairs
  • Hubert Mariana
    Commisioner Technical Affairs and Maintenance

If you wish to contact the Board, please send an email to: board@curacaogolf.co

Odoo text and image block

The Committees

Match Commitee

  • Willem de Haes

  • Mieke Korevaar

  • Inez Muys

  • Darryl Rosheuvel

Ladies Afternoon Committee

  • Myra Vesseur

  • Thea Adriaans

  • Shirley Kluijver

Communications Committee

  • Tina Vermeulen

  • Myra Vesseur

  • Charlene Peiliker

  • Inez Muys

Rules Commitee

  • Willem de Haes

  • Stoffel van den Heuvel

  • Courtney Guillen

  • Darryl Rosheuvel

Squash Committee

  • Anthony Richardson

  • Sander Kock

  • Paul Durward

Handicap Committee

Designated Markers:

  • Mieke Korevaar

  • Inez Muys

  • Myra Vesseur

  • Leo Laclé

  • Chris Quast

  • Darryl Rosheuvel

The Organization

  • Willem de Haes, Golf Pro

  • Sander Kock, Squash Pro

  • Belinda Devid, Administration

  • Marro Pietersz, Food & Beverage

  • Chris Quast, Golf Course Superintendant